Dear Legislator,

As your constituent and a member of NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia, I wanted to express my disappointment in the low rating you were given by NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia on their 2016 scorecard. I urge you to take this opportunity to begin supporting initiatives that improve women’s access to comprehensive reproductive health care.

All too often issues of women’s health in Virginia are defined by dangerous and divisive attacks on a woman’s right to choose safe and legal abortion. All the while, proactive solutions to prevent unintended pregnancies and expand access to health care for Virginia women are ignored.

Virginians like me care about common ground solutions that bring us together to improve women’s health. We do not want more of the same: dangerous and divisive attacks that put politics before sound policy.We can work together to improve access to comprehensive, medically accurate sex education for our young people.We can increase access to safe, affordable contraceptive services to prevent unintended pregnancies.

Like many, I am tired of repetitive attacks on a woman’s right to choose in Virginia while the real needs of Virginia women and families are ignored. Constituents like me want solutions, not more problems; that’s why I’m urging you to consider supporting pro-women’s health initiatives when the legislature reconvenes in 2017.

I thank you in advance for your support of healthy Virginia families.

Sincerely,

[Your Name]

Source

 

Other posts in the reproductive rights series:
Reproductive Rights #1
Reproductive Rights #2

